All Collections
Expend for Members
Using your business card with Expend
Using your business card with Expend

Use your business Visa card to record expenses

Updated over a week ago

You can connect your business Visa card to Expend and create expenses from transactions in a few simple steps.

Before you start

  • Only Visa cards are currently supported.

  • When adding a card, a “microcharge” (an amount of less than £1.00) is authorised for verification. This is immediately reversed, so it is never actually taken from your account.

  • Only transactions done after connecting the card will be imported. Earlier transactions cannot be imported.

Adding your card

In the web app

  1. In the menu on the left, click Cards, and then click Connected Cards.

  2. Click Connect Card.

  3. Read the guidance and tap Continue.

  4. On the Get started screen, read the instructions and tap Continue.

  5. Enter the Card number and Expiry date, ensure that the checkbox is selected, and click Next.

  6. Follow the on-screen instructions to verify your card. You‘ll be prompted to enter a microcharge amount that will appear on the card statement. If you have access to this, enter the amount and click Verify. (Please also see “Card verification”, below.)

Inbox users

  1. In the sidebar menu on the left, go to CARDS & PAYMENTS and click Connected Cards.

  2. Click Connect Card.

  3. Read the guidance and tap Continue.

  4. On the Get started screen, read the instructions and tap Continue.

  5. Enter the Card number and Expiry date, ensure that the checkbox is selected, and click Next.

  6. Follow the on-screen instructions to verify your card. You‘ll be prompted to enter a microcharge amount that will appear on the card statement. If you have access to this, enter the amount and click Verify. (Please also see “Card verification”, below.)

Your card will be shown on the Connected Cards page (refresh the page if necessary).

In the mobile app

In the mobile app

  1. On the Cards screen, go to Connect a new card. (If you already have other cards, swipe from right to left).

  2. Under Connect a New Card, tap the icon of a card with a .

  3. Read the guidance and tap Continue.

  4. On the Get started screen, read the instructions and tap Continue.

  5. Enter the Card number and Expiry date, ensure that the checkbox is selected, and tap Done.

  6. Follow the on-screen instructions to verify your card. You‘ll be prompted to enter a microcharge amount that will appear on the card statement. If you have access to this, enter the amount and click Verify. (Please also see “Card verification”, below.)


Card verification

Please ensure that your card is verified before you start to use it with Expend.

  • If you are not able to retrieve and enter the amount right away, you can complete the verification step later. Simply close the “Card Verification” screen for now.

  • When you do have the amount, go back to your connected card and complete the verification step:

    • In the mobile app: Tap the Verify Card button and follow the instructions.

    • On the web: Click the ··· button, select Verify card, and follow the instructions

  • The verification step can also be completed by an Admin user on your behalf. If this has been done but your card still looks like it's unverified, refresh the card:

    • In the mobile app: Go to your card and tap Refresh Card.

    • On the web: Go to your card, click the ··· button and select Refresh card.

  • If you are still unable to verify, please tap or select Unlink Card and start over.

  • If you‘ve unlinked your card but the “Card Verification” screen still opens, click Reconnect Card.

If your card cannot be verified, you can easily remove it and add it again (see “Removing your card”, below).


Managing your expenses

Please see the following article: Raising expenses from business card transactions

Since they are raised from a card managed within Expend, these expenses are classified as expense reports. Once created, they are listed on the My Expenses page, and can be managed in the same way as all your other expenses.


Removing your card

Please note:

  • After removing a card, you will no longer be able to raise expenses from existing card transactions, even if they were done before the card was deleted. Please ensure all expenses have been raised before deleting your card.

  • You can add the same card again after removing it. However, transactions done during the time that the card wasn’t connected will not be imported.

In the web app

  1. In the menu on the left, click Cards, and then click Connected Cards.

  2. Find your card, click the ··· menu on the right, and select Unlink card.

In the mobile app

On the Cards screen, go to your card and tap Unlink Card.


Did this answer your question?